Healthier Societies: Why?

2014 is the year when the international community will intensify negotiations on a new set of development goals, and as a result, the conference will take place at an important juncture for global health policy-setting.

Who should attend?

The global health community including: UN and other relevant IGOs, Governments, NGOs, Foundations, Patient Organizations and Disease Research Organizations, etc.


The conference will review how, in a time of resource constraints, ever-broader healthcare systems can sustainably meet the needs and expectations of patients and societies. We will explore 3 inter-linked building blocks of any healthcare systems that aspire to meaningfully contribute to healthier societies and the associated investments needed: innovation, inclusiveness and sustainability.


Our event will focus on 3 challenges for global health: innovation, inclusiveness and sustainability.


Hotspots will offer partners and participants the possibility to organize informal parallel sessions.


Our event will gather a wide range of stakeholders engaged in the global health arena.


Join via Twitter using #HealthyMeans & follow the discussion via webcast.


Prof. Ian Goldin

Director of the Oxford Martin School at the University of Oxford

Dr. David Reddy

CEO, Medicines for Malaria Venture

Mr. Cary Adams

Chief Executive Officer, Union for International Cancer Control (UICC), Chair, NCD Alliance

Dr. Jennie Ward-Robinson

President and CEO, PAHO Foundation

Dr. Raj Panjabi

CEO, Last Mile Health

Dr. Mamta Kapoor

Postdoctoral Associate, University of Minnesota

Mr. Bright Simons

President, mPedigree Network

Dr. Marie-Paule Kieny

Assistant Director-General - Health Systems and Innovation, World Health Organization

Dr. Giovanni Caforio

Chief Operating Officer, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Mr. Bob Hugin

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,Celgene Corporation

Mr. Marc Boutin

Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, the National Health Council

H.E. Ambassador Bénédicte Frankinet,

Permanent Representative of Belgium to the United Nations

Mr. Masafumi Nogimori

Representative Director, Chairman of the Board, Astellas Pharma Inc., IFPMA Vice President

Mr. Eduardo Pisani

Director General, IFPMA

Dr. Stefan Oschmann

Member of the Executive Board and CEO Pharma, Merck, and incoming IFPMA President

Dr. John Lechleiter

Chairman, President and CEO, Eli Lilly & Company, and IFPMA President

Mr. Raj Kumar

President and Editor-in-Chief, Devex

Dr. Julio Frenk

Dean of the Faculty, Harvard School of Public Health

Dr. Shiro Konuma

Director, Office of Health Policy, Government of Japan

Mr. Murray Aitken

IMS Health Senior Vice President and Executive Director, IMS Institute for Healthcare Informatics, TBC

Mr. Andrew Jack

Editor of curated content, Financial Times

Ms. Mary Lou Valdez

Associate Commissioner for International Programs, US Food and Drug Administration

Mr. Riz Khan

International Journalist, TV Host

>> view all speakers


To achieve healthier societies in resource challenged parts of the world, what innovations are needed to meet the needs of the next generation?

>> view all results

Who we are

The International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers and Associations (IFPMA) represents the research-based pharmaceutical companies and associations across the globe. The research-based pharmaceutical industry’s 1.3 million employees research, develop and provide medicines... >> more

Get in touch


15, Chemin Louis-Dunant
PO BOX 195 - 1211 Geneva 20
+41 22 338 32 00

Twitter: @IFPMA


Apella Event Space
at Alexandria Center
for Life Sciences

450 East 29th Street,
2nd Floor,
New York, NY
+1 212 706-4100


The following hotel offers special rates for our participants.

The Roger New York

131 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10016

Reservations (US): (888) 448-7788
Direct: +1 212448-7000

Online Reservation

Download Reservation form